New Tortoise - Help

This forum covers all aspects of tortoise diet and nutrition, including mineral and vitamin supplementation and foods appropriate for different species.
Deriiick

New Tortoise - Help

Post by Deriiick » 15 Oct 2020, 13:55

Hi, I’m new to this group and new to the world of looking after a Horsfield Tortoise. I’ve read so many things about food and I’ve confused myself! What is best to feed our tortoise, and how many times a day does Derick (yes Derick my little boy named him) need feeding! I’m a complete novice but we’re in love already! Any response and help will be extremely appreciated.
Thanks Louise 🙏

Nina

Re: New Tortoise - Help

Post by Nina » 15 Oct 2020, 14:42

Hi Louise and welcome to The Tortoise Table -- and congratulations on welcoming this little Horsfield into your family. Horsfields are a great species, with lots of personality, but the way they live in the wild provides good clues to how and what to feed them.

In their natural habitats Horsfields tend to inhabit areas that have long, cold winters and long hot summers (they come from the 'stans' -- Afghanistan, Pakistan, Uzebekistan, and also Iran, parts of India and the Russian Steppes (hence their common name of Russian tortoise) . They hibernate for a long time during long winters and in the very hot summers they aestivate (which is a bit like hibernation but in the heat). Studies have shown that in the wild they are often only awake for three months of the year, and during that time food is sometimes scarce and they only eat for about 20 or 30 hours. Consequently they are sort of programmed to eat as much as possible in a short period of time. Of course with us, in captivity, they are presented with lovely meals every day and they can easily overeat and grow too quickly, which results in deformed shells and other problems.