Cracked Shell - Urgent

Use this forum to discuss general questions about any aspects of tortoise care.
PhilBen

Cracked Shell - Urgent

Post by PhilBen » 16 Sep 2023, 08:41

I noticed a couple of weeks ago that skippy seemed to have a couple of cracks etc on her shell. I have looked online and it says you can treat with toothbrush and warm water then a slight rub of antiseptic/bacterial cream. Is this correct ? could i use manuka honey ?

[attachment=0]IMG_20230916_083611.jpg[/attachment]
Attachments
IMG_20230916_083611.jpg
Phil
New to keeping a Tortoise

PhilBen

Re: Cracked Shell - Urgent

Post by PhilBen » 16 Sep 2023, 10:12

She has a bath 2-3 times a week. Also mulit vitamin powder and limestone flower powder on food 2-3 times a week. Being a novice i think it was the breeder as she was kept in a outhouse with no uvb or natural light. eyes and nose was ok but did not notice or look at the shell enough. my mistake. learning everyday. manuka honey with mgo 100+ is very good anti bacterial agent, wound healer for animals. hope i can use with skippy ?
Phil

Nina

Post by Nina » 16 Sep 2023, 10:46

Hi Phil,

I think I can see the area you are talking about -- the scute to the left of the nuchal (small central) scute, where at the front it looks like the top layer of the scute is starting to separate from the bottom layer, and then there is a white sort of dot on the left-hand margin of that scute where it meets the next scute, and I would like to know what that is too.

I am not a vet, but this could be the start of some shell rot. Shell rot is caused by bacteria getting into the shell, and can be got rid of with care. I know Manuka honey is good for many types of wounds, but I'm not sure that I would put it on the tortoise's shell, as it could clog the pores (I could be wrong though).