Tortoise home

Use this forum to discuss any aspect of tortoise housing and enclosures. Upload and show pictures of your set ups (enclosures).
vanrose66

Tortoise home

Post by vanrose66 » 10 Mar 2021, 20:07

Good evening everyone,
I brought my 2 spur thighed tortoises (6 months old) home on Saturday. This is my first time as a tortoise mummy and have researched for around a year before we built their home and actually got them. I joined a forum today - didn't raise it was american- an wow are the rude, but they have got me worried about my 2. According to them we have no idea over in England about caring for tortoises.
Anyway I wonders if I could just run by you what I'm doing and hope you can put my mind at rest.
Tortoise table is 125cm by 55cm, I have the soil, sand and limestone subtrate and a combination bulb. Temp under bulb is 98-100° away from bulb its around 79-82°, night time drops to approx 72°. The covered bed area has a 5w heat mat attached to the side wall and is on low all the time. I spray the subtrate 3-4 times a day. I bathe them every morning and place them back under the basking lamp where they stay for a while then have a wander and some food, they then go into the tunnel or covered area until mid afternoon when they come back out to bask and fees.
I hope this all sounds OK- anything you feel I may need to change am happy to listen.
Tried to attach photo but it says file too large.

Nina

Re: Tortoise home

Post by Nina » 10 Mar 2021, 21:36

Hi Vanrose, and welcome to The Tortoise Table! And many congratulations on getting your two spur thighs. We'd love to see photos of them and of your set-up. If you can't reduce the photos in size, then just send them to me at nina@thetortoisetable.org.uk and I will reduce them and post them here for you.