Hermann help!

Use this forum to discuss any aspect of tortoise housing and enclosures. Upload and show pictures of your set ups (enclosures).
Cheryl

Hermann help!

Post by Cheryl » 28 Aug 2020, 14:25

Hey everyone, newbie here! Looking forward to ‘meeting’ you all.

So last Saturday with a day’s notice, I inherited my very first tortoise and I’m feeling a little overwhelmed with all the information ‘out there’ so I’m hoping someone can help please?
Dumbledore is 3 years old and he came to me after a friend’s marriage ended suddenly and the friend has been posted abroad with the army for 6 months.

Dumbledore arrived in a 3x2’ wooden box with a glass front and a mesh top to keep the dog out. He has a plastic box at one end with a big hole cut out of it as his hide - this has a reptile heat mat inside for heat. There is an overhead bulb attached over the main area that is an exo terra dual light bulb.
Substrate is literally a few layers of newspaper and some greenish coloured straw/hay. To say I was horrified when I saw this set-up would be an understatement.

Every day this week I have made sure Dumbledore has had some time outside (I don’t have an outdoor setup yet so he has been supervised the entire time) but the rest of the time he has just hidden away in his hide.

Clearly there is a bit of work to do to get him set up properly and settled into his new home but with the list of things to do getting longer each day, could someone please tell me what needs to be done first as a priority and I can start there?

I have a week off work after today so can see I’m going to be very busy getting things sorted for Dumbledore - all advice is greatly appreciated, thank you 😊

Nina

Re: Hermann help!

Post by Nina » 28 Aug 2020, 15:45

Hi Cheryl,
Welcome to The Tortoise Table, and congratulations on getting Dumbledore (great name by the way)!