Male or Female?

Post your pictures and any questions here of European tortoises e.g. Ibera Spur Thigh, Ibera Graeca, Marginated, Hermanns, Kleinmanni and we include the Horsfield tortoise. Also, do add pictures of Mediterranean tortoises you have seen in the wild.
CandiceBall

Male or Female?

Post by CandiceBall » 13 Nov 2019, 21:28

I was just wondering if anyine would be able to help me sex my hermanns tortoise. I was told it was a girl but i am starting to wonder if she is actually a boy...i will attatch some photos :roll:
Attachments
20191113_195435.jpg
20191113_195447.jpg

Nina

Re: Male or Female?

Post by Nina » 13 Nov 2019, 22:29

Hi Candice,

I'm not an expert at sexing tortoises, but she definitely looks female to me. Her tail is shorter than I would expect a male tortoise's tail to be, and her cloaca is in the shape of an asterisk (indicating female), rather than a slit (indicating a male). Also the anal scute is in a wide 'U' shape, rather than a tighter 'V' shape which can also indicate a female. Is there a reason why you think your tortoise might be male?

How old is she/he? You can't really accurately sex a tortoise until they are of a sufficient size -- usually about 5 - 7 years old, but from what I can see of your hand in the photo it looks like she is of sufficient size to sex.

Here are a couple of photos showing the difference in the size of tail in male and female Hermanns:
http://www.chelonia.org/sexing/sexing_T ... rmanni.htm
and this is a really excellent site devoted to Hermann's tortoises, in case you want to know the sub-species or anything else about them:
https://www.hermannihaven.com/general

Nina

CandiceBall

Post by CandiceBall » 13 Nov 2019, 22:43