Is tortoise able to eat wishbone/torenia?

This forum covers all aspects of tortoise diet and nutrition, including mineral and vitamin supplementation and foods appropriate for different species.
JellaBee

Is tortoise able to eat wishbone/torenia?

Post by JellaBee » 04 May 2019, 15:37

Hi, I am a newbie tortoise keeper.

Do tortoises able to eat wishbone/torenia?
Couldn't find about torenia from the database...

And please recommend any of indoor plant which has good nutrients for the tortoises.

Thanks a lot.
Last edited by JellaBee on 19 May 2019, 02:39, edited 1 time in total.

Nina

Re: Does tortoise able to eat wishbone/torenia?

Post by Nina » 04 May 2019, 17:08

Hi JellaBee and welcome to The Tortoise Table! What species of tortoise to you have (different species have different diets)?

As far as I can see Torenia is not toxic and could probably be safely fed, but because there is no documented evidence of tortoises eating it, I would be cautious and only feed it in small amounts, and as part of a wide and varied diet.

If you want to know which indoor plants you can feed, you can use the filter system on our database. Here is a link to the section of our website on how to use the database https://www.thetortoisetable.org.uk/pla ... M23F6R7m9s It tells you about the 't'raffic light' symbols and then if you scroll down it tells you how to filter out all the plants that are not good, and just see the plants that can be fed. if you are looking for indoor plants then you want to go into the Garden and House section (that section is a mixture of plants that grow in the garden and also indoor plants). If you have trouble understanding how to use the filter then let us know and we will guide you through it.