Heat/light set up

Use this forum to discuss any aspect of tortoise housing and enclosures. Upload and show pictures of your set ups (enclosures).
Chara03

Heat/light set up

Post by Chara03 » 18 Jul 2020, 07:35

Hi! I’m new to this and just wanted to check I’ve got the right set up for my baby Hermanns.

I did a lot of research online beforehand and spoke a lot to my local reptile shop to make sure I was getting the right things. Currently I have a 3ft x 2ft table with a ceramic lamp holder and clamp rigged at one end with an 80w uva/uvb heat lamp installed. The temperature directly under the lamp at “shell height” is about 30-31degC and at the cooler end is about 24-25degC. So my first questions is is the cool end cool enough? I have read it should be about 20 but obviously this would drop at night slightly and not sure how I can cool it further.

I collected my tortoise last night from a different shop to that I had been getting advice from, as the original didn’t have any availability of Hermanns. When I collected it they checked what set up I had and instead advised I should install a uvb tube light over the table and rig a heat lamp separately. I bought the tube but not sure what the best thing to do is now! Is the tube and heat lamp set up more efficient/beneficial for my tortoise? Or will the current set up be sufficient? For information, my tortoise is 1-2 years old.

Thanks in advance for the help!! :D

Nina

Re: Heat/light set up

Post by Nina » 18 Jul 2020, 13:49

Hi Chara and welcome to the Tortosie Table (and apologies for the delay in responding to your message).

First of all, congratulations on getting a tortoise table for your little Hermanns (what is his name by the way?) -- he will be so much happier in there than in a vivarium (which many people mistakenly buy).

To answer your questions: