Food bowls

Use this forum to discuss any aspect of tortoise housing and enclosures. Upload and show pictures of your set ups (enclosures).
Misty666tortoise

Food bowls

Post by Misty666tortoise » 28 Oct 2019, 18:13

Hi I'm new to tortoises I've seem to have rescued 2 in the last 3 months, I'm not new to reptiles have had anacondas, pythons, iguanas, all unfortunately to be re homed due to my house being condemned and having to move to a tiny bungalow that you cat swing a cat., anyway what I'm trying to say tortoises are not a problem for me,
I have a horse field and a Hermann's in their own home's, at the moment they are in Viv's as they are both around 2or3 both where very under wieght one has a poorly shell a dog got hold of it when she was a baby , now in the time I've had them they have both doubled in weight and get checked out at the vets, but as they are becoming more them selves they are wasting more food than eating, they are on the tortoise complete pellets and love them to the point they are climbing my hand when I put the bowl in, so my question is after my long winded post is how on earth do you stop so much waste they also have all sorts of greens from the garden and my veg shop, I've tried different bowl's and they kick it out cover it in substrate or poo in it all before they get their fill. 😁 Sorry for the long thing. Cheers.👍👍👍 Oh just a quick add I do intend on moving them outside next spring I just want them to be on hand to keep a proper eye on them while I get them back to health.👍

Nina

Re: Food bowls

Post by Nina » 28 Oct 2019, 22:24

Hi MIsty and many thanks for contacting us. Congratulations on rescuing your two Horsfield tortoises -- they are a great species (but then I'm prejudiced because I have Horsfields). :D